Colorado Toughens Equestrian Travel Laws
The days of riding the open range are a thing of the past. Stricter legislation in various American states requires Long Riders to study local laws before setting off on a journey.
Colorado, for example, has issued a bulletin that warns travellers to be aware of the following:
You must have a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection issued by an accredited veterinarian 30 days prior to entry into Colorado. Include the physical address of the horse in your state and the location where the horse will be in Colorado.
A negative equine infectious anaemia test is required 12 months prior to entry. Date of the test, results, the lab and the accession number must be listed on the veterinary inspection form.
Horses are required to have a brand inspection when transported over 75 miles totally within the boundaries of Colorado, and every time they leave the state.
Hay, straw and mulch must be certified as "weed free." Only the following products are allowed on national forests in Colorado: cubed and pelletized hay, steamed grain, treated/steamed mulch from tree fibers.
Restrictions on horse travel in wilderness areas are often greater than in other areas. Be sure to read notices at trailheads. Many wilderness areas carry maximum group size limits, which regulate the number of livestock and people that are allowed to travel together.
Back to News Page